August 01, 2023

Jasprit Bumrah returns to T20I series to lead India against Ireland

NEW DELHI: Star fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah returns to Indian cricket after a long hiatus with injury and will lead the team for a three-match T20I against Ireland from August 18 series. Bumrah last represented India in a T20I match in September 2022 before his injury flared up. He missed the 2022 T20 World Cup due to injury and all eyes were him regarding his comeback, especially with the ODI World Cup in India on October 5. BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said recently that star pacer Jasprit Bumrah Rapid is making progress on his recovery from injury.

Bumrah successfully underwent back surgery in March, making him out of cricket since the T20I match against Australia in September 2022. Despite his brief return to action in the T20I series in Australia, the injury resurfaced, leading to further setbacks.

Bumrah's road to recovery has been challenging. He was named for the ODI series against Sri Lanka in January after starting his rehabilitation last November and returning to bowling in December. However, when he stepped up his fitness routine in January, he started feeling sick again.

Except for Bumrah, most of the other members of the T20I series are young players. Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma and Rinku Singh form the young batting line-up while Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi are the spinners. Prasidh Krishna (returning after long-term injury), Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar and Avesh Khan form the pace line-up. Ruturaj Gaikwad is the team's vice-captain.

India (Senior Men) T20I series vs Ireland: Jasprit Bumrah (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad (VC), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prashid Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan.


Tranding News

Get In Touch
About Us